Truth Awards Logo

The Truth Awards represents an unprecedented opportunity to highlight the contributions of the Black LGBTQ community and our allies. The award embodies our belief that members of the Black LGBTQ community who embrace and live their truths should be recognized and honored. Along with our allies, they represent the very best in our community and serve as examples to us all.

The goal of the Truth Awards is to increase the awareness of the Black LGBTQ community, and highlight their contributions in life, career, and mainstream culture. This annual event will also have presentations of college scholarships to promising Black LGBTQ youth. While recognizing members of the community, we want to encourage youth to pursue educational opportunities while being true to themselves.

We believe by highlighting examples of courage and leadership, we help refocus the prism through which we are seen and perceived. We hope this highlighted presence will inform future discussions and provide a richer context for those discussions within the Black community.

Join the celebration - click here to become a sponsor or purchase tickets at truthawards4.eventbrite.com
Have a business, product, or cause you would like to promote? Advertise in the Truth Awards Souvenir Program Journal. Click here to review the interactive inaugural program journal.

“The good we secure for ourselves is precarious and uncertain until it is secured for all of us and incorporated into our common life.”
—Jane Addams

On March 28, 2015 the inaugural Truth Awards were presented to the following honorees:

On March 5, 2016 the 2nd Annual Truth Awards were presented to the following honorees:
  • BISHOP DR. YVETTE A. FLUNDER, founder and senior pastor of City of Refuge United Church of Christ – Lifetime Achievement Award
  • AARON WALTON, co-founder of Walton Isaacson (WI) – Lifetime Achievement Award
  • JUDGE DARRIN P. GAYLES, United States District Judge for the Southern District of Florida – History Maker Award
  • GERARD MCCALLUM II, Senior Project Manager at the San Francisco-based development firm Wilson Meany – Business Leadership Award
  • REV. JENENNE MACKLIN, Motivational Speaker – Mentor Award
  • GREGORY BUNN and DEMETRIUS MCCOY, humanitarians and founders of the non-profit family support group, Angels Plight – Mentor Award
  • DARRYN HARRIS, Director of External Affairs to Congresswoman Karen Bass (CA-37) – Passing the Torch Award
Supervisor Mark Ridley-Thomas

Platinum Sponsor

Gold Sponsor

Silver Sponsor

Gerard McCallum  Bronze Sponsor

New York Life

Bronze Sponsor

In-Kind Sponsor
Truth Awards